Call Us: 0800 357 9129 West Sussex, United Kingdom

iGCSE Computer Science – Year 1 (Live) – September 2024

Live classes for September 2024 start Tuesday 17th September at 2pm.

iGCSE CS 2024/25 Y1

DateCourse WeekImportant Information
Tuesday, September 17, 20241
Tuesday, September 24, 20242
Tuesday, October 1, 20243
Tuesday, October 8, 20244
Tuesday, October 15, 20245
Tuesday, October 22, 20246
HALF TERM
Tuesday, November 5, 20247
Tuesday, November 12, 20248
Tuesday, November 19, 20249
Tuesday, November 26, 202410
Tuesday, December 3, 202411
Tuesday, December 10, 202412
Tuesday, December 17, 202413
CHRISTMAS BREAK
Tuesday, January 7, 202514
Tuesday, January 14, 202515
Tuesday, January 21, 202516
Tuesday, January 28, 202517
Tuesday, February 4, 202518
Tuesday, February 11, 202519
HALF TERM
Tuesday, February 25, 202520
Tuesday, March 4, 202521
Tuesday, March 11, 202522
Tuesday, March 18, 202523
Tuesday, March 25, 202524
Tuesday, April 1, 202525
EASTER
Tuesday, April 22, 202526
Tuesday, April 29, 202527
Tuesday, May 6, 202528
Tuesday, May 13, 202529
Tuesday, May 20, 202530
HALF TERM
Tuesday, June 3, 202531
Tuesday, June 10, 202532
Tuesday, June 17, 202533
MOCK EXAM (Theory)
Tuesday, June 24, 202534
MOCK EXAM (Programming) – END OF YEAR 1

What I will learn?

  • Foundations of Computer Science covering
  • - Python Programming
  • - Data Representation
  • - Data Transmission
  • - Hardware & Software
  • - The Internet & Network Security

Course Curriculum

Course Syllabus & Exams

Lesson Recordings & Notes

Week 1 – Introduction & Data Representation (Taster)

Week 2 – Hexadecimal & Variables

Week 3 – Sequence in Programming & Binary Addition

Week 4 – Selection in Programming & Negative Binary Numbers

Week 5 – Iteration in Programming & Representing Images

Week 6 – Understanding Algorithms & Digital Text

Week 7 – Text, Images & Sound

Week 8 – File Types & Subroutines

Week 9 – Compression & Flowcharts

Week 10 – The CPU, Fetch Decode Execute Cycle, & 1D Arrays in Programming

Week 11 – Automation & 2D Arrays

Week 12 – Input & Output Devices

Week 13 – Primary Storage & Input / Output Devices

Week 14 – Secondary Storage & Project Based Programming

Week 15 – Virtual Memory, Cloud Storage, & Project Based Programming

Week 16 – Network Hardware & Project Based Programming

Week 17 – Network and Internet Addresses & Project Based Programming

Week 18 – Programming Questions in Exams (code & pseudocode)

Week 19 – Revision & Tutor Marked Assessment

Week 20 – The Risks of Malware & Validation and Verification

Week 21 – Phishing, Pharming, & DDoS Attacks & The SDLC

Week 22 – Methods of Protecting Data & Programming Challenge 1

Week 23 – Methods of Encryption & Programming Challenge 2

Week 24 – Other Threats to Data & Programming Challenge 3

Week 25 – Factors of Authentication & Programming Challenge 4

Week 26 – System and Utility Software & Programming Challenge 5

Week 27 – High & Low Level Languages

Week 28 – The Role of Operating Systems

Week 29 – The Need for Interrupts

Week 30 – End of Year 1 Revision

Week 31 – End of Year 1 Revision

Week 32 – End of Year 1 Revision

Week 33 – End of Year 1 Mock (Paper 1 Theory)

Week 34 – End of Year 1 Mock (Paper 2 Programming)

Student Ratings & Reviews

No Review Yet
No Review Yet
£510.00
Enrollment validity: 730 days

Your Tutor

Holly Billinghurst
Holly Billinghurst
Director & Lead Tutor (Computer Science)

Want to receive push notifications for all major on-site activities?